News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Wed, 02/13/2019

The U.S. District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, including the U.S. Bankruptcy Court and U.S. Probation and Pretrial Services, will be closed on Monday, February 18, 2019 for Washington's Birthday.

Tue, 02/05/2019

The policy of the United States District Court in Madison is that the building shall be open to the public as long as the ...

Thu, 01/10/2019

Chief Judge Peterson has issued an administrative order appointing Federal Defender Services of Wisconsin, Inc. to advise individuals convicted in this district of their eligibility for relief under the First Step Act and, where appropriate, to...

Fri, 12/28/2018

The United States District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, including the Bankruptcy Court and Probation Office, will be closed on Monday, December 24, 2018 and Tuesday, December 25, 2018 for the Christmas holiday. The court will also...

Wed, 12/26/2018

Chief Judge Peterson entered the following Administrative Order on 12/21/2018:

If a lapse in federal appropriations occurs on December 22, 2018, IT IS ORDERED that schedules and...

Sun, 07/01/2018

The court has received reports of fraudulent communications that appear to come from court employees, the U.S. Marshals Service, or other law enforcement organizations. Often, the caller threatens arrest, demands payment, or directs the reader to...

Tue, 07/25/2017

Parties owing criminal debt, including criminal assessments, restitution, and fines, are now able to make payments online. Please use the button on the home page labeled "Criminal Debt Payments." A...

Tue, 04/18/2017

The court has increased the size limit for any one PDF document from 10 Mb to 35 Mb. Please be aware that ECF may time out if a user attempts to upload multiple attachments at the same time, each approaching the limit of 35 Mb.

Mon, 04/17/2017

The court has updated its policy on electronic transcripts of court proceedings. Parties will no longer be required to file a "Notice of Intent to Request Redactions." Instead, a party who wishes to redact any information, for any reason, must...

Wed, 03/29/2017

The court has recently changed its policy on the use of attorney rooms during trial. The court will now randomly assign rooms to counsel for plaintiff and defendant on the Wednesday before trial.

 

Pages