
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

 

DONALD MEANS,

Plaintiff,   ORDER
        

v. 11-cv-003-slc

GREG GRAMS, Warden; S. SEVERSON, Sergeant;

MARDELL PETRAS; LEO CAMPBELL

and BRIAN FRANSON,

Defendants.

Plaintiff Donald Means, a prisoner at the Wisconsin Resource Center in Winnebago,

Wisconsin, has submitted a proposed complaint.  He asks for leave to proceed in forma pauperis.

Because plaintiff is detained, he is subject to the 1996 Prisoner Litigation Reform Act.  This

means that before this court may decide whether he can proceed with his complaint in forma

pauperis, plaintiff will have to make an initial partial payment of the filing fee.  In determining

whether a prisoner litigant qualifies for indigent status this court applies the formula set forth

in 28 U.S.C. § 1915(b)(1).  According to this formula, a prisoner requesting leave to proceed in

forma pauperis must prepay 20% of the greater of the average monthly balance or the average

monthly deposits made to his prison account in the six-month period immediately preceding the

filing of the complaint. 

In this case, 20% of the average monthly deposits made to plaintiff’s account is $4.68,

but 20% of the average monthly balance in his account is $144.65.  Because the greater of the

two amounts is 20% of the average monthly balance, or $144.65, that is the amount plaintiff

will be assessed as an initial partial payment of the filing fee.  If plaintiff does not have the

money in his regular account to make the initial partial payment, he will have to arrange with
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prison authorities to pay some or all of the assessment from his release account.  This does not

mean that plaintiff is free to ask prison authorities to pay all of his filing fee from his release

account.  The only amount plaintiff must pay at this time is the $144.65 initial partial payment.

Before prison officials take any portion of that amount from plaintiff’s release account, they may

first take from plaintiff’s regular account whatever amount up to the full amount plaintiff owes.

Plaintiff should show a copy of this order to prison officials to insure that they are aware they

should send plaintiff’s initial partial payment to this court.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiff is assessed $144.65 as an initial partial payment of the

$350 fee for filing this case.  He is to submit a check or money order made payable to the clerk

of court in the amount of $144.65 on or before January 25, 2011.  If, by January 25, 2011,

plaintiff fails to make the initial partial payment or show cause for his failure to do so, he will

be held to have withdrawn this action voluntarily.  In that event, the clerk of court is directed

to close this file without prejudice to plaintiff's filing his case at a later date.

Entered this 4  day of January, 2011.th

BY THE COURT:

/s/

STEPHEN L. CROCKER

Magistrate Judge
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