
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

-  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  - 

JAMES G. DUDGEON

Petitioner,   ORDER

        

v. 04-C-75-C

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, 

MATTHEW J. FRANK, Secretary, Sued in their

individual and official capacities;

OAKHILL CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTION, DICK

VERHAGEN, Warden, sued in their official and

individual capacities;

THOMPSON CORRECTIONAL CENTER, WCCS,

JANE DIER-ZIMMEL, Superintendent, ROY BOUTAN,

Correctional Captain, TODD JOHNSON, Correctional

Captain, sued in their official and individual capacities,

WISCONSIN COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS SYSTEM,

WAYNE MIXDORF, Deputy Warden, sued in their official

and individual capacities,

Respondents.

-  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  -  - 

Petitioner James G. Dudgeon, a prisoner at the Oakhill Correctional Institution in

Oregon, Wisconsin, has submitted a proposed complaint.  He asks for leave to proceed in

forma pauperis.  Because petitioner is a prisoner, he is subject to the 1996 Prisoner

Litigation Reform Act.  This means that before this court may decide whether he can

proceed with his complaint in forma pauperis, petitioner will have to pay an initial partial



payment of the filing fee in the amount of $5.13 and the remainder of the fee in monthly

installments even if his request for leave to proceed is denied.  If petitioner does not have the

money to pay the initial partial payment in his regular account, he will have to arrange with

prison authorities to pay some or all of the assessment from his release account.  This does

not mean that petitioner is free to ask prison authorities to pay all of his filing fee from his

release account.  The only amount petitioner must pay at this time is the $5.13 initial partial

payment.  Before prison officials take any portion of that amount from petitioner’s release

account, they may first take from petitioner’s regular account whatever amount up to the full

amount petitioner owes.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that petitioner is assessed $5.13 as an initial partial payment of the

$150 fee for filing this case.  He is to submit a check or money order made payable to the

clerk of court in the amount of $5.13 on or before March 10, 2004.  If, by March 10, 2004,

petitioner fails to pay the initial partial payment or show cause for his failure to do so, he

will be held to have withdrawn this action voluntarily.  In that event, the clerk of court is 



directed to close this file without prejudice to petitioner's filing his case at a later date.

Entered this 17th day of February, 2004.

BY THE COURT:

BARBARA B. CRABB

District Judge
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