## IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

BARRY L. BALL,

Petitioner,

**ORDER** 

v.

3:07-CV-00670-BBC

RICHARD J. RAEMISCH, Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Corrections,

Respondent.

Barry Ball, an inmate at the Columbia Correctional Institution, has filed an application for a writ of habeas corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254. He has paid the five dollar filing fee. The petition is before the court for preliminary review pursuant to Rule 4 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases.

The subject of the petition is a prison disciplinary decision finding petitioner guilty of violating Wis. Admin. Code DOC §§ 303.12 (battery) and 303.15 (sexual conduct) while incarcerated. Petitioner contends that he is entitled to federal habeas relief because prison officials denied him meaningful opportunity to defend against the charges against him in violation of his right to fundamental due process. Petitioner alleges that the inmate conduct report relied on information from a confidential informant and did not identify the date, time or location of his alleged misconduct. It appears that petitioner has exhausted his administrative and state court remedies and filed his petition within the one year limitations period.

Petitioner's claims are sufficient to warrant a response from the state.

## **ORDER**

- The clerk shall serve copies of the petition to respondent Raemisch and to the Wisconsin Attorney General.
- 2. The state shall file a response to petitioner's claims not later than 30 days from the date of service of the petition, showing cause, if any, why this writ should not issue.

If the state contends that petitioner's claims are subject to dismissal with prejudice on grounds such as procedural default or the statute of limitations, it should file a motion to dismiss and all supporting documents within its 30-day deadline. The state must address the issue of cause and prejudice in its supporting brief. Petitioner shall have 20 days following service of any such motion within which to file and serve his responsive brief and any supporting documents. The state shall have 10 days following service of the response within which to file a reply.

If at this time the state wishes to argue petitioner's claims on their merits, either directly or as a fallback position in conjunction with any motion to dismiss, then within its 30-day deadline the state must file and serve not only its substantive legal response to petitioner's claims, but also all documents, records and transcripts that commemorate the findings of fact or legal conclusions reached by the state courts at any level relevant to petitioner's claims. The state also must file and serve any additional portions of the record that are material to deciding whether the legal conclusions reached by state courts on these claims was unreasonable in light of the facts presented. *See* 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(2). If the necessary records and transcripts

cannot be furnished within 30 days, the state must advise the court when such papers will be

filed. Petitioner shall have 20 days from the service of the state's response within which to file

a substantive reply.

If the state chooses to file only a motion to dismiss within its 30-day deadline, it does not

waive its right to file a substantive response later, if its motion is denied in whole or in part. In

that situation, the court would set up a new calendar for submissions from both sides.

3. Once the state has filed its answer or other response, petitioner must serve by mail a copy

of every letter, brief, exhibit, motion or other submission that he files with this court upon the

assistant attorney general who appears on the state's behalf. The court will not docket or

consider any submission that has not been served upon the state.

Entered this 5<sup>th</sup> day of December, 2007.

BY THE COURT:

/s/

STEPHEN L. CROCKER

Magistrate Judge

3