1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

U.S. District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin

The United States Courts are an independent, national judiciary providing fair and impartial justice within the jurisdiction conferred by the Constitution and Congress. As an equal branch of government, the federal Judiciary preserves and enhances its core values as the courts meet changing national and local needs.


The Western District of Wisconsin currently has three district judges and one full-time magistrate judge. The clerk of court also serves as a part-time magistrate judge.




Chief U.S. District Judge William M. Conley

U.S. District Judge Barbara B. Crabb

U.S. District Judge James D. Peterson

U.S. Magistrate Judge Stephen L. Crocker

Clerk of Court/Magistrate Judge Peter Oppeneer



Case Assignments:

Information about district court cases is available through PACER or by calling the clerk's office.



Judicial Disclosures:

The Judicial Conference has adopted a seminar disclosure reporting policy that requires educational program providers and judges to disclose certain information relevant to judges' attendance at privately-funded educational programs.  This system is intended to assist program providers, courts and judges in making the necessary disclosures while providing public access to the information.


Any organization covered by the policy that issues an invitation to a federal judge to attend an educational program as a speaker, panelist or attendee and offers to pay for or reimburse the judge in excess of $305 must disclose financial and program information.  Click the link below to view qualifying educational seminars reported by the District Judges of the Western District of Wisconsin.


Report of Judges' Attendance at Seminars for the Western District of Wisconsin



Bar Associations:

Attorneys practicing before this court may find the resources at the following bar associations helpful.



Western District of Wisconsin Bar Assocation
It is the mission of the Western District of Wisconsin Bar Association to promote the just, speedy, respectful and efficient determination of every action filed in the District Court: by acting as an effective liaison among the District Court, federal practitioners, litigants and the public; by encouraging, fostering and supporting educational opportunities that improve the practice of law in this District; and by serving the needs of the District Court, federal practitioners, litigants, and the public.

State Bar of Wisconsin (WisBar)

The mission of the State Bar of Wisconsin is to improve the administration of justice and the delivery of legal services and to promote the professional interests of Wisconsin lawyers.






The Western District of Wisconsin is comprised of the following Wisconsin Counties: Adams, Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo,Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Grant, Green, Iowa, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Lincoln, Marathon, Monroe, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland, Rock, Rusk, Sauk, St. Croix, Sawyer, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Washburn, and Wood.